Calarco Library: AC1 Renaissance Artist Project: Resources

Where to Cite

Step 1: Go to NoodleTools Sign In

Step 2: Click on Google under Sign In/Register

Step 3: Sign in with your Hopkins Email

Step 4: Click on Create a New Account

Step 5: Select Student/Library Patron--Year of graduation--Save

Database	How to Cite
Ancient & Medieval History Online	Auto import to Noodletools
Credo Reference	Auto import to Noodletools
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition	Use pre-formatted citation to complete the DATABASE > ORIGINAL CONTENT template in Noodletools
Gale Virtual Reference Library	Auto import to Noodletools
Modern World History Online	Auto import to Noodletools
Salem History Online	Use pre-formatted citation to complete the DATABASE > REFERENCE SOURCE template in Noodletools
World History Encyclopedia	Use the pre-formatted citation to complete the DATABASE > ORIGINAL CONTENT template in Noodletools

Detailed Citation Instructions

Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Prehistory through the mid-1500s. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston HGS '52 History Fund.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor Digital Library includes millions of high-quality images for education and research across disciplines from a wide variety of contributors around the world.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General reference source to start your research. Use the MIND MAP and SUBJECT features to explore your topic. Gift of the Levin Family Fund
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading. Gift of the Helen Hope Barton and Parcells Funds
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Authoritative full-text reference ebooks covering a variety of subjects. Suitable for background reading.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
See TOPIC CENTERS. 1550 to present. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston '52 HGS History Fund
Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading.
World History Encyclopedia (formerly Ancient History Encyclopedia) This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia covering global history from ancient times through the early modern eras.

Website

The Art Story
A comprehensive art website that seeks to inform and increase access to high quality information about art and artists.

Limit your search results to reference books. Go to COLLECTION on the left-hand side and select REFERENCE.

Dewey Classification

Keywords

Who, What, Where, When

Who?	Gender, age, class, race, nationality, political or religious group, key historical figure
What?	Specific event, cultural idea, innovation, treaty, law, political movement
Where?	Country, region, empire
When?	Time period or era, reign, specific date

Example

Jan van Eyck

Who?	Hubert van Eyck, painters, Philip Duke of Burgundy
What?	Flemish school of painting, oil painting, Adoration of the Lamb, manuscript illumination, Madonna of Chancellor Rolin
Where?	Netherlands, northern Europe, Belgium, Holland, Bruges
When?	15th century, Northern Renaissance