Home - English - Longform Journalism Resources - Calarco Library at Hopkins School

The Hopkins School Archive is located on the lower level of the library, across from the elevator. The archive preserves the history of Hopkins through collection and organization of historical papers, publications, photos, artifacts and other materials.

Finding Materials

Collections within the archive (yearbooks, student publications, etc.)
Boxes labeled with material type and date ranges
Original order

Usage Guidelines

Many of the items in the Hopkins School Archive are one of a kind. In order to help preserve these unique materials, please follow the usage guidelines when using the archive:

Computers or pencils/paper ONLY - no pens
No food or drink
Minimal contact

Using Archives

Hopkins School has been around - in one form or another - for a long time; therefore, a Google search for "Hopkins School" will generate a fair number of results. When searching online, the Hopkins website is the best place to find history, data, and other information.

Campus News
Search for Hopkins campus news
Hopkins History
Read specific articles and general overviews about Hopkins' history
Student Publications
View digital version of recent Hopkins student publications
Views from the Hill - Peters' Writings
Shared Drive folder of Mr. Peters' articles
Why Hopkins Has Survived for 350 years
Yale News article on 350th celebration

Limit Calarco Discovery search to various book-only results.

ALL BOOKS - Go to SOURCE TYPE on the left-hand side and select BOOKS
E-BOOKS - Go to SOURCE TYPE on the left-hand side and select E-BOOKS
PHYSICAL BOOKS - Go to LIMIT TO on the left-hand side and select CATALOG ONLY
- REFERENCE - Go to LOCATION on the left-hand side and select REFERENCE
- NON-FICTION - Go to LOCATION on the left-hand side and select STACKS

The databases below provide newspaper articles, essays, articles, primary sources, etc. that could help to inform your longform topic.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690- 2000) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia that provide an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America.
Gale Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new window
19th century US newspapers, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive 1924-50, Punch Historical Archive 1841-1992, Smithsonian Collections Online, The Times of London Digital Archive 1785+
Connecticut Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Court documents,artifacts, photographs, maps, broadsides, manuscripts and oral histories from Connecticut university and library collections.
Connecticut History Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Pamphlets on various aspects of Connecticut State history.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Key events in history arranged by REGION, ERA, and SUBJECT. Reference sources for background reading including timelines, editorial cartoons and video. Gift of the E. Wight Bakke Fund
ProQuest Historical American Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
NY Times (1851-2017), Washington Post (1877-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889- 2003), Hartford Courant (1764-1922) and American periodicals (1740 -1940). Gift of the Levin Family Fund
ProQuest Major American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes The Hartford Courant, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, NYT, WSJ, and WaPost

Go to SOURCE TYPE on the left-hand side and select ACADEMIC JOURNALS to limit Calarco Discovery to scholarly journal articles.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text academic journals, 1975 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,600 journals in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Academic journals covering literature, history, politics, economics, education, film, religion and women's studies.

English - Longform Journalism Resources: Home