The Gilded Age - AC2 - Gilded Age Redux - Calarco Library at Hopkins School

Databases: Background Reading

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Authoritative full-text reference ebooks covering a variety of subjects. Suitable for background reading.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Key events in history arranged by REGION, ERA, and SUBJECT. Reference sources for background reading including timelines, editorial cartoons and video. Gift of the E. Wight Bakke Fund
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,600 journals in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690- 2000) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of titles from all 50 states and the District of Columbia that provide an unparalleled record of the topics, people, issues and events that have shaped America.
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers (Gale Primary Source Collection) This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable, facsimile-image database that includes major newspapers and those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and others.
ProQuest Historical American Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
NY Times (1851-2017), Washington Post (1877-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889- 2003), Hartford Courant (1764-1922) and American periodicals (1740 -1940). Gift of the Levin Family Fund

Ebsco Academic E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window Access thousands of full-text scholarly sources in all disciplines.

Connecticut Public Library Catalogs Search Connecticut public and UCONN library catalogs. Titles can be borrowed through inter-library loan at your local public library.