Calarco Library: APUSH Research Paper: Background Reading

Background Reading

Biography

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures from American history. Gift of the Alcorn Fund.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of full-text biographies from top-ranked reference collections and magazines.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history

General Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
General reference source to start your research. Use the MIND MAP and SUBJECT features to explore your topic. Gift of the Levin Family Fund
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading. Gift of the Helen Hope Barton and Parcells Funds
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Authoritative full-text reference ebooks covering a variety of subjects. Suitable for background reading.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of specialized reference books, history periodicals, maps, photos, videos and historical documents. Reference sources for background reading.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
See TOPIC CENTERS. 1550 to present. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston '52 HGS History Fund
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a wide range of topics in multiple disciplines. Reference sources for background reading.
Salem History Online This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading.

Subject Reference

African American History Online This link opens in a new window
Topic centers, controversies, and landmark legislation. Primary sources. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the Edward Petraiuolo III Memorial Fund
American Indian History Online This link opens in a new window
Topic centers, controversies, and landmark legislation. Primary sources. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the Edward Petraiuolo III Memorial Fund
Issues & Controversies, Current Events This link opens in a new window
Objective analysis, key facts, arguments, history, and context of current issues in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Gift of the Edward Petraiuolo III Memorial Fund
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Key events in history arranged by REGION, ERA, and SUBJECT. Reference sources for background reading including timelines, editorial cartoons and video. Gift of the E. Wight Bakke Fund

Limit your search results to reference books. Go to COLLECTION on the left-hand side and select REFERENCE.

Dewey Classification

Focus Your Ideas

Time period - era, age, date
Geographic location - country, empire, region
Affected Population - age, race, gender, nationality, religious sect
Specific Event - war, battle, treaty, law, document
Point of View - cultural, political, military, social, artistic, technological
Compare and contrast - ideas, important events, policies, outcomes
Cause and effect - of an event, war, political movement, document