Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hopkins School | 986 Forest Road | New Haven, CT 06515
- Go to Noodletools sign in
- Click on Google under Sign In/Register with...
- Sign in with your Hopkins email
Off Campus Access
Use your Hopkins username and password to access databases from home.
Use your Hopkins username and password to access Calarco's Reference Databases from off campus.
Ancient & Medieval History Online
Prehistory through the mid-1500s. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston HGS '52 History Fund.
Biography Reference Center
Comprehensive collection of full-text biographies from top-ranked reference collections and magazines.
General reference source to start your research. Use the MIND MAP and SUBJECT features to explore your topic. Gift of the Levin Family Fund
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition
General reference source suitable for background reading. Gift of the Helen Hope Barton and Parcells Funds
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Authoritative full-text reference ebooks covering a variety of subjects. Suitable for background reading.
Oxford Classical Dictionary
Reference source on classical antiquity and its civilizations. Included as part of the Oxford Research Encyclopedia database.
Oxford Reference Premium
A big database that includes The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World, and the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Salem History Online
Full text reference ebooks covering all historical periods. Suitable for background reading.
Reference books are located on the upper level of the library. You'll find many helpful sources there, including these:
Tips for searching for books:
- The catalog is not Google. Keep your searches short (1-2 words)!
- Searching for your specific achievement might not work. Think broader (Rome, Roman, architecture, art, etc).
- There's no auto-correct. Check your spelling!
How to Search the Catalog
A handout with instructions and screenshots of how to search the library catalog for nonfiction books.