Skip to Main Content

History 8 Golden Age of Islam Hall of Fame

Recommended Reference Databases

Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Prehistory through the mid-1500s. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston HGS '52 History Fund.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading. Gift of the Helen Hope Barton and Parcells Funds

Citing Your Information Sources

Show where your information came from by including a footnote for each fact.
Here's where to find the stable URL for articles found in Calarco reference databases:

Database	Stable URL	Example Footnote
Ancient & Medieval History Online	See RECORD URL at bottom of article	Ancient & Medieval History Online, https://login.hopkins.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://online.infobase.com/Auth/Index?aid=103994&itemid=WE49&articleId=225042
Encyclopedia Britannica	Click the CHECK SYMBOL in top right corner, use URL from citation	Britannica, https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/Islamic-world/106443

Use NOODLETOOLS to Cite Reference Databases and Websites

TYPE OF SOURCE	NOODLETOOLS TEMPLATE	INFO TO COMPLETE THE TEMPLATE	WHERE TO FIND STABLE URL
DATABASE: Ancient & Medieval History Online		Use Autocite to export to NoodleTools	Use Record URL at bottom of article
DATABASE: Encyclopedia Britannica	+Source -- Database -- Reference Source	Use info in the pre-formatted citation to complete the template	Use URL in preformatted citation
WEB SITES:	+Source --Website -- Webpage	Complete as much of the template as you can.	Use the URL shown at top of browser.

Hopkins School | 986 Forest Road | New Haven, CT. 06515