Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hopkins School | 986 Forest Road | New Haven, CT. 06515
Step 1: Go to Noodletools sign in
Step 2: Click on Google under Sign In/Register
Step 3: Sign in with your Hopkins email
Cite Your Sources
- Your must include at least five sources on your bibliography
- Choose Chicago as your citation style for this project
- You must cite the source of any image that you use.
- Where did you find it?
- What is it?
- In the Annotation Field, include a short paragraph of the sort of information found in the reference related to your structure, any other information found, usefulness of the reference, etc.
- For books, include page numbers.
- For public web sites, use the URL for page your information is found so that your teacher can directly access it
Latin 1 Recommended Resources
The Appian Way by
Call Number: 388.10937 Ap49
The Appian Way was the first great artery from Rome to southern Italy and the model for all roads originating in the ancient capital. Conceived by Appius Claudius in 312 B.C., the thoroughfare provided easy access to Capua, the most important junction in southern Italy, and facilitated Roman expansion into the southern peninsula. Paved in black basalt, the road was flanked by level pedestrian footpaths and bordered by tombs, villas, and pleasant rest and refreshment areas along its 365 miles, which could be walked in thirteen to fourteen days. The Ancient Appian Way provides an engaging account of the Appian Way's origins and historical context.
Roman Roads and Aqueducts by
Call Number: 388.10937 N166
Describes the construction of roads and aqueducts in ancient Rome, life and customs along the roads, water distribution and aqueduct maintenance, and the building of bridges.
The Roman Colosseum by
Call Number: 725.827 N166
Describes the planning and construction of the Colosseum in ancient Rome and traces its history through subsequent centuries.
The Ancient City by
Call Number: 930 C762
Examines the development of Rome in the hundred years from Nero (emperor of Rome from A.D. 54 to 68) to Hadrian (emperor of Rome from A.D. 117 to 138). Nero's Golden Palace and the buildings subsequently built over it, the Colosseum, the Flavian Palace, the Baths of Trajan, the Temple of Venus and Roma, as well as other buildings such as the Circus Maximus, the Theatre of Marcellus, and Trajan's Forum and Market.
Ancient Rome by
Call Number: 937 In4
Explores twenty-four significant ancient landmarks such as the Roman Forum, Circus Maximus, the Pantheon, and the Appain Way.
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome by
Call Number: 937.03 R394
Defines and describes the known buildings and monuments, as well as the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome.Provides a concise history of each, with measurements, dates, and citations of significant ancient and modern sources.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by
Call Number: Ref 938.03 Ox2
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is an accessible guide and a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
Ancient & Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Prehistory through the mid-1500s. Reference sources for background reading. Gift of the John Livingston HGS '52 History Fund.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
General reference source suitable for background reading. Gift of the Helen Hope Barton and Parcells Funds
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Reference source on classical antiquity and its civilizations. Included as part of the Oxford Research Encyclopedia database.