Project Documents
Library Catalogue Links
- HOPKINS LIBRARY CATALOGUESearch for books and videos in Hopkins Library.
- ReQUEST STATE PUBLIC LIBRARIES CATALOGUESearch for resources in Connecticut public libraries, including UCONN.
Shorshanks:Locomotion, England - c1830

From the ARTstor database
Steam! Steam! Steam! England, c.1830

Fom the ARTstor database.
Hopkins Library Databases
For off campus username and passwords, please see a Librarian.
- America's Historical NewspapersSearch hundreds of U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 2000, including titles from all 50 states.
- ARTstor
A digital library of over 400,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods taken from art museums and collections around the world. FOR OFF CAMPUS ACCESS - create an ARTstor user account on any campus computer using your Hopkins network username and password. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text of every page of the New York Times (1851-2002), Hartford Courant (1764-1922), Washington Post (1877-1989), Wall Street Journal (1889-1988) and Los Angeles Times (1881-1985). Includes editorials, graphics and advertisements. - World History in Context (iCONN database)
Moves chronologically from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, the events that define, inform and shape world history are covered with a sense of balance. Includes articles from journals, magazines and newspapers; reference works; primary sources; a graphical timeline, research guide, historical maps and images. - FOF Modern World History
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries.
How to Search Library Catalogues with Subject Headings
Subject heading searches help you find relevant items that do not have your keyword as part of the title or author. Try these Subject Heading search strings to find resources in the Hopkins Library or ICONN ReQuest online catalogues:
- Keyword - Location - sources
- Keyword - Location - time period
- Industrial Revolution - United States - sources
- Industrial Revolution - Great Britain - 19th century
- Industrial Revolution - United States - 20th century - sources
- Location - social life and customs - sources
- Location - social life and customs - time period
- United States - social life and customs - sources
- United States - social life and customs - 19th century
- United States - social life and customs - 20th century - sources
- Location - history - sources
- Location - history - time period
- United States - history - sources
- United States - history - 19th century
- United States - history - 19th century - sources
- Location - social conditions - sources
- Location - social conditions - time period
- Great Britain - social conditions - sources
- Great Britain - social conditions - 19th century
- Great Britain - social conditions 19th century - sources

Loading...
