This is the "Resources" page of the "History 8 Roman Daily Life" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History 8 Roman Daily Life   Tags: citation sources, google docs, history 8, roman history  

The resources provided in this LibGuide will assist in the research required for this project.
Last Updated: Feb 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hopkins.edu/romanlife Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Databases

Web Resources

  • Ancient History In Depth - Rome  
    Rating
    This BBC resource provides information about ancient Rome, from daily life to the gladiators.
  • Ancient Rome  
      
      
    Rating
    A collection of links to sites related to ancient Rome, including politics, government, culture, women, daily life, literature, and so forth.
  • Forum Romanum  
    Rating
    Provides full text of "The Private Lives of Romans", "Outlines of Roman History", and "Surgical Instruments in Greek and Roman Times".
  • Internet History Sourcebook: Rome  
    Rating
    Primary sources specific to everyday life in ancient Rome are provided through this link.
  • LacusCurtius: Intro to the Roman World  
    Rating
    A large collection of links to online books and encyclopedias, photos of cities and monuments, maps, and more.
  • The Roman Empire in the First Century  
    Rating
    A resource from PBS, this site provides dynamic resources on ancient Rome, including full transcripts from the televised series.
 

Reference Books (on the Upper Level)

Cover Art
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: REF 700.9 AR 79 v.2
ISBN: 0787656992

Cover Art
World History Encyclopedia - Alfred J. Andrea
Call Number: REF 909 W893a
ISBN: 9781851099290

Cover Art
World Eras: Roman Republic and Empire - John T. Kirby
Call Number: REF 909 W893w v.3
ISBN: 0787617075

Cover Art
The Ancient World: Civilizations of Europe - Eric Cline
Call Number: REF 930.103 C499 v.2
ISBN: 9780765680822
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire - Matthew Bunson
Call Number: REF 937.0603 B885
ISBN: 081602135X

Cover Art
Handbook to Life in Ancient Rome - Lesley Adkins
Call Number: REF 937 Ad53 c.1
ISBN: 0816027552

Cover Art
Historical Atlas of Ancient Rome - Nick Constable
Call Number: REF 937 C39
ISBN: 0816053316

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome - Michael Gagarin
Call Number: REF 938.03 Ox 2
ISBN: 9780195170726

 
 

Library Catalog

 

Finding Books Using the Hopkins Library Catalogue

After you've done a KEYWORD search in the Hopkins Library Catalog try a search with one of the SUBJECT HEADINGS shown below. 

  •  Rome - Social Life and Customs
    Includes books with these subject headings: Country life -- Rome-- juvenile literature,  city and town life -- Rome -- juvenile literature, social classes -- Rome-- juvenile literature, handicraft--Rome, costume --Rome, Games -- Rome, Gladiators -- Rome, Circus--Rome

  •  Rome - History 
    Includes books with these subject headingsGladiators -- Rome--history, Gladiators -- juvenile lietarature, Rome--Description and Travel, Rome--guidebooks, Emperors--Rome--biography, Rome--army--history, Games--Rome, Sports -- Rome--history, Theater -- Rome--history, Slavery--Roman--history, Slavery -- Rome, Slaves--Rome--Social Conditions, Roads -- Rome -- history ,  Rome --Army--history, Civil Engineering --Rome , Rome -- Senate,  Women--Rome--history, Science-- Rome-- History, Entertainment events/Popular culture/Theater/Processions/Pagaents/--political aspects--Rome--history, Technology -- Rome -- history, Rome -- guidebooks -- history, Rome -- history -- sources, Occupations -- Rome -- history, Working class--Rome--history

  •  Rome - Civilization
    Includes books with these subject headings: Roads--Roman, Aqueducts--Roman, Technology--Rome, Science--Rome

  • Other Subject Headings
    • Rome -- Religion
    • Medicine -- Greek and Roman
    • Medicine -- Greek and Roman -- Juvenile Literature
    • Medicine -- Ancient
    • Rome -- Biography
    • Rome -- Biography -- Juvenile Literature
    • Art, Roman
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip