This is the "Reference Books and Journals" page of the "Film Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Film Studies  

Resources on film history in our library.
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hopkins.edu/film Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Reference Books and Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Film Studies Journals

The library subscribes to two databases that provide full text of film studies journals, both of which can be accessed through the library's database portal.  

  • JSTOR:  Browse by Discipline -- Film Studies

  • Project Muse: Browse Research Areas -- Film,Theater and Performing Arts --- Film and Media Studies
      
     

    Available in Reference - Upper Level

    Cover Art
    The Illustrated Who's Who of Hollywood Directors
    Call Number: REF 791.43092 B28
    ISBN: 0374524289
    Barson's book engagingly analyzes the work of 197 important directors whose directorial careers began before 1975. Two- to eight-page essays on 151 men and two women (Dorothy Arzner and Ida Lupino) are supplemented by briefer summaries of 44 others. George Sherman seems to be the only prolific director omitted. A few Brits are included: Hitchcock, John Schlesinger, and John Boorman but not, surprisingly, J. Lee Thompson. Alongside great filmmakers like John Ford and Howard Hawks are genre and low-budget impresarios Jack Arnold, Roger Corman, and William Castle, as well as Disney's live-action expert Robert Stevenson. Portraits, candid on-set shots, and posters highlight the text. Though not filmographies per se, the well-written articles cite, describe, or evaluate every film each director helmed.

    Cover Art
    The Oxford History of World Cinema
    Call Number: REF 791.43 Ox2
    ISBN: 0198112572
    The Oxford History of World Cinema traces the history of this enduringly popular entertainment medium. Covering all aspects of its development, stars, studios, and cultural impact, the book celebrates and chronicles over one hundred years of diverse achievement from westerns to the New Wave, fromanimation to the Avant-Garde, and from Hollywood to Hong Kong. An international team of distinguished film historians tells the story of the major inventions and developments in the cinema business, its institutions, genres, and personnel; other chapters outline the evolution of national cinemasround the world - the varied and distinctive filmic traditions that have developed alongside Hollywood.

    Cover Art
    Shirmer Encyclopedia of Film
    Call Number: Ref 791.4303 Sch35
    ISBN: 0028657918
    A comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others. Also included are more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics. Includes a comprehensive index and list of further reading sources.

    Cover Art
    Movies in American History
    Call Number: Ref 791.43973 M869
    ISBN: 9781598842968
    Provides 450 A–Z entries that comprehensively cover the historical significance of subjects, people, and films of the American cinema. Contains contributions from 150 distinguished interdisciplinary scholars offering their analysis on the role of movies in American history. Includes reference materials and suggestions for further reading with every entry

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of European Cinema
    Call Number: Ref 791.43 En19
    ISBN: 9780816033942
    Produced under the auspices of the British Film Institute and comprised essentially of brief biographies of stars and directors, along with three- to six-page subjective historical essays on 26 national cinemas, EEC offers librarians an inexpensive overview of Continental film. Although there is no discussion of individual films, the genre entries‘Italian spaghetti Westerns, Norwegian occupation dramas, etc.‘are useful.

     

    Head Librarian

    Profile Image
    Faye Prendergast
    Contact Info
    Hopkins School
    986 Forest Road
    New Haven, CT 06515
    (203) 397-1001 Ext 171
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip