This is the "FAQs About Databases" page of the "Hopkins Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hopkins.edu/databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

FAQs About Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database FAQs

Is a database the same as a web site?
No.  Information inside of our databases are digital reprints of the content from printed books, journals, magazines and newspapers. 

How do I know what's in the database?
Use the tabs on this page to get a brief description of each Hopkins database. 

Will my teacher count what I find in a library databases as a website?
No. The library databases are credible resources for research and should be distinguished from articles retrieved from websites found on the "free web". They contains the full content of books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other previously published materials.  Articles are written by scholars and journalists and are made available through reputable publishers.

How do I cite material I find in a library database?
The library subscribes to NoodleBib citation generator which can help you create citations for many kinds of resources, including items found in databses, in MLA, Chicago or APA formats. 

Can I access the library databases from off-campus?
Yes. Ask a librarian for the remote username and password you will need from an off-campus computer. You DO NOT need a password for databases provided through ICONN.

 

What is a Database?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip