The Absolutists
Utilize the resources provided on this LibGuide to create a detailed and descriptive Facebook page for either Peter the Great, Frederick the Great Elector, or Louis XIV.
L
Louis XIV, King of France, in Royal Costume. Art, Archaeology and Architecture (Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Arts Archives). Provided by ARTstor
Remember! Facebook pages are full of images and detailed information. Make it just as good as your own!
Library Catalog
Reference Books
Events that Changed the World in the Seventeenth Century
Call Number: REF 001.40932 Ev23
ISBN: 9780313290831
Events that changed the world in the eighteenth century
Call Number: Ref 001.40933 Ev23
ISBN: 0313290776
Wars of the Age of Louis XIV, 1650-1715: An Encyclopedia of Global Warfare and Civilization
Call Number: Ref 355.094 N711
ISBN: 9780313330469
Kingdoms of Europe: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Ruling Monarchs from Ancient Times to the Present
Call Number: Ref 940.0992 G966
ISBN: 0517543958
Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Call Number: Ref 940.2 En19
ISBN: 068431200X
Databases
- Biography in Context (ICONN)
Gather biographical information about each absolutist in the form of reference entries, images (profile default picture!), and scholarly articles. - Discovering Collection (ICONN)
Information about People, Places and Events -- history, literature, biography, science and social studies. - Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition
Better than Wikipedia because you can cite it! - FOF Modern World History
Covers the full scope of world history from the mid-15th century to the present. Thousands of fully hyperlinked subject entries, biographies, images and videos, maps and charts, primary sources, and timeline entries. - Encyclopedia Americana/Grolier Multimedia
Full text of the printed Encyclopedia Americana including periodical articles, related web links and multimedia resources such as animations, panoramas, videos and interactive cutaways. - Infotrac Student Edition, 1980 to present (ICONN)
Designed for high-school students providing them with access to 1100+ full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, and sports. - Salem History Online
Full text of these reference books: Great Lives from History —Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, Inventors&Inventions, and Notorious Lives. - World History in Context (iCONN database)
Need more context for the biographical information you gathered about an absolutist? Visit this database for reference entries, articles, primary sources, images and more relating to the historical events of the absolutists' time period.


Loading...
