This is the "Home" page of the "History 8 Roman Newspaper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.hopkins.edu/RomanNewspaper Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Helpful Databases

Remote username and password required for off campus access.

 

Web Portals

  • Forum Romanum
    Full text of  The Private Lives of Romans,  Outlines of Roman History, and Surgical Instruments in Greek and Roman Times.

  • Roman Emperors
    An online encyclopedia of Roman rulers and their families.

  • Ancient Rome
    A collection of links to many, many sites on all aspects of ancient Rome including politics, government, culture, art and architecture, women, daily life,  literature, religion, and warfare.

  • LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World
    A very large collection of links to of online books and encyclopedias,  photos of cities and monuments,  maps, and more.
 

Some Recommended Reference Books

Cover Art
Arts & Humanities Through the Eras
Call Number: REF 700.9 AR 79 Volume 2
ISBN: 0787656992

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire
Call Number: REF 937.0603 B885
ISBN: 081602135X

Cover Art
Chronicle of the Roman Emperors
Call Number: REF 937.06 Sca77
ISBN: 0500050775

Cover Art
Historical Atlas of Ancient Rome
Call Number: REF 937 C39
ISBN: 0816053316

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: REF 938.03 Ox 2
ISBN: 9780195170726

 
 

Finding Books in Hopkins Library

After you've done a KEYWORD search in the Hopkins Library OPAC try a search with one of the SUBJECT HEADINGS shown below.

  •  Rome - Social Life and Customs
    Inclludes books with these subject headings:     Country life -- Rome-- juvenile literature,  city and town life -- Rome -- juvenile literature, social classes -- Rome-- juvenile literature, handicraft--Rome, costume --Rome, Games -- Rome, Gladiators -- Rome, Circus--Rome

  •  Rome - History 
    Includes books with these subject headings:      Gladiators -- Rome--history, Gladiators -- juvenile lietarature, Rome--Description and Travel, Rome--guidebooks, Emperors--Rome--biography, Rome--army--history, Games--Rome, Sports -- Rome--history, Theater -- Rome--history, Slavery--Roman--history, Slavery -- Rome, Slaves--Rome--Social Conditions, Roads -- Rome -- history ,  Rome --Army--history, Civil Engineering --Rome , Rome -- Senate,  Women--Rome--history, Science-- Rome-- History, Entertainment events/Popular culture/Theater/Processions/Pagaents/--political aspects--Rome--history, Technology -- Rome -- history, Rome -- guidebooks -- history, Rome -- history -- sources, Occupations -- Rome -- history, Working class--Rome--history


  •  Rome - Civilization
    Includes books with these subject headings:     Roads--Roman, Aqueducts--Roman, Technology--Rome, Science--Rome


  •  Other Subject Headings
    •  Rome -- Religion
    •   Medicine--Greek and Roman
    •  Medicine--Greek and Roman--juvenile literature
    •  Medicine--ancient
    •  Rome--Biography
    •  Rome--Biography--juvenile literature
    •  Art, Roman  
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip